How to use a spectrometer?

Reminder: the Beer-Lambert’s law

We consider a medium of width L that absorbs light: it will generally be the content of a cuvette containing the solution subjected to spectrometric analysis. The intensity of the absorbed light (i.e. that is stopped) by this medium is proportional to the intensity of light that passes through it and proportional to the concentration of light-absorbing molecules. On a small medium width dx, the decrease in the light’s intensity dI can be written as: dI=-λCdx and as such, the light’s intensity after having passed through the width L, is worth:

\large \int_{0}^{L} dI = ln \frac{I}{I_{0}} = -\lambda C\int_{0}^{L}dx = -\lambda CL

This expression is always used by bringing up the decimal logarithms and the dependence to concentration. By writing ε=λln10, the expression becomes: \large A = \log \frac {I_{0}}{I} = \varepsilon \cdot l \cdot C and is called the Beer-Lambert’s law.

In practice, the Beer-Lambert’s law allows to access the concentration C if ε, I, I0 and L are known, or to access ε epsilon if I,I0,L and C are known. The graph of ε (or of any physical quantity that is proportional to it, like A for example) as a function of wavelength makes up the UV-visible spectrum of the studied sample.

In every case, the spectrometer must measure I0 and I and compare them. Both measures are necessary, as it is not possible to build an instrument that would measure a determined luminous intensity I0.

Your opinion:
* multiple answers possible
Your position:
Your user profile:
multiple answers possible
Free comment:

Comment utiliser un spectromètre ?

Rappel : loi de Beer-Lambert

On considère un milieu d'épaisseur L et absorbant la lumière : généralement, ce sera le contenu d'une cuve contenant la solution soumise à l'analyse spectrométrique. L'intensité de la lumière absorbée (donc stoppée) par ce milieu est proportionnelle à l'intensité de la lumière qui le traverse et proportionnelle à la concentration des molécules qui absorbent la lumière. Sur une faible épaisseur dx du milieu, la diminution dI de l'intensité s'écrit donc comme : dI=-λCdx et par conséquent l'intensité de la lumière après avoir traversé l'épaisseur L vaut donc :

\large \int_{0}^{L} dI = ln \frac{I}{I_{0}} = -\lambda C\int_{0}^{L}dx = -\lambda CL

Cette expression s'utilise toujours en faisant apparaître les logarithmes décimaux et la dépendance à la concentration. En notant ε=λln10 elle devient \large A = \ln \frac {I_{0}}{I} = \varepsilon \cdot l \cdot C et porte le nom de loi de Beer-Lambert.

Pratiquement, le loi de Beer-Lambert permet d'accéder à la concentration C si ε,I,I0 et L sont connus, ou d'accéder à ε epsilon si I,I0,L et C sont connues. Le graphe de ε (ou de toute grandeur qui lui est proportionnelle, par exemple A) en fonction de la longueur d'onde constitue le spectre UV-visible de l'échantillon analysé.

Dans tous les cas, le spectromètre doit mesurer I0 et I et les comparer. Les deux mesures sont nécessaires, car il n'est pas possible de construire un instrument qui mesurerait une intensité lumineuse I0 déterminée.