UV spectrophotometry analysis

HOW TO QUANTIFY THE ACTIVE PRINCIPLE BY THE SPECTROPHOTOMETRIC METHOD?


The spectrophotometric method is commonly used in the pharmacopoeia and generally in the pharmaceutic industry. A lot of active principles found in drugs have chemical groups in their structure that absorb UV-light and that can be thus quantified.

The quantic theory defines the total energy of a molecule as the sum of three energies:
  • Electronic energy: Ee
  • Vibration energy: Ev        Et = Ee + Ev + Er
  • Rotation energy: Er
UV absorption depends essentially on Ee. The concerned area of the electromagnetic spectrum goes from 10 to 380 nanometers. In reality, the classic apparatus explore the area between 200 and 380 nm, because below 180 nm, the radiation is absorbed by the air and the measure needs to be done under vacuum.

Applications:

• Qualitative: useful for identification (comparing to a standard); however, UV/Visible absorption is not sufficient to identify a substance alone, but can sometimes usefully complete infra-red, mass spectrometry, NMR and other spectral methods.

• Quantitative: useful for dosage; it is a rapid and precise method, based on the exploitation of the Beer-Lambert law that links absorption to the concentration of the molecules in solution, given a wavelength λ.

Le dosage par spectrophotométrie UV

Comment doser le principe actif par la méthode du dosage spectrophotométrique ?


Le dosage par spectrophotométrie est un dosage très utilisé dans la Pharmacopée et généralement dans l'industrie Pharmaceutique. Beaucoup de principes actifs que l’on retrouve dans les médicaments présentent dans leur structure des groupements chimiques qui absorbent dans l’ultra-violet et qui peuvent ainsi être dosés.

La théorie quantique définit l'énergie totale d'une molécule comme la somme de trois énergies :
  • énergie électronique : Ee
  • énergie de vibration : Ev        Et = Ee + Ev + Er
  • énergie de rotation : Er
L'absorption U.V. dépend essentiellement de Ee. La région du spectre électromagnétique concernée s'étend de 10 à 380 nanomètres. En réalité, les appareils classiques explorent la région située entre 200 et 380nm, car en dessous de 180nm, le rayonnement est absorbé par l'air et il faut opérer dans le vide.

Applications :

• Qualitative : utile pour l'identification (par rapport à un témoin) ; toutefois, l'absorption UV/Visible est une technique insuffisante pour identifier à elle seule une substance, mais peut parfois compléter utilement l'infrarouge, la spectrométrie de masse, la RMN et d'autres méthodes spectrales.

• Quantitative : utile pour un dosage ; c'est une méthode rapide et précise, basée sur l'exploitation de la relation de Beer - Lambert qui relie l'absorption à la concentration des molécules en solution, pour une longueur d'onde λ donnée.